Race results – 4 April 2009

Saturday 4 April proved to be a good day for riding, with overcast conditions and no wind to speak of.

Juniors started with their usual time trial and there were some fast times from the usual suspects, including Cody Burton (1:51), Ben Castle (1:53), and Angus Swan (1:47). There were also excellent times from newcomers Jo Benham (1:55) and Dean Burke (2.00 flat). Of course as seniors, they have to break 1:30 before they get a shirt!

Kirk Burton, Sam Jenner, Adam Burke and Ben and Keiran Sullivan also rode well and posted good times.

Next up was a five lap handicap, won by Kirk Burton from Jo Benham. The scratch group failed to make any impression on the other groups in this race, but they showed their style in the final event for the day, a missing-out race. The final lap came down to a contest between Angus and Cody, with the final result too close to call.

Seniors then competed in a 30km handicap race on Dangarsleigh Road, with Bullo doing a good job on the handicap ensuring another tight finish involving a number of riders.

John Scott-Hamilton again rode very well, leaving his starting companions behind before joining up with Col Maciver and Rob Tindale just after the turn around, before picking up Bill Mara’s group at the monument.

By the time they reached Peterson’s they had swallowed up the leading groups ensuring a bunch finish, which was won by Col Maciver, with John second, and Phil Thomas third.

While the scratch bunch didn’t catch the leaders, they weren’t far behind, with Mitch Sozou getting the fastest time of 44:48.

Full results below:

[table “” not found /]

, ,